top of page

'Our Flag Means Death' is out and now I'm doing a blog post!

There is something liberating about posting on my blog on this beautiful 'Wix' website - knowing that absolutely not a soul shall lay eyes upon it. True 'barking into the cave' vibes (a phrase I once heard Kate Berlant use). It reminds me of the way we used to interact with Myspace and Bebo, casting all caution to the wind and simply letting our freak flags fly in said wind, utterly alive and unafraid to broadcast details intimate of our inner worlds for predators of the world to consume à la a bountiful all-you-can-eat buffet.


If you are reading this, that is incredibly random of you but hello! I just wanted to pop in and pop up a post about a show that has come out, which I'm incredibly proud to have had a part in. Also if you know how I can gain access to my old Bebo account please reach out 'coz that's something I've wanted for a really long time.


The first thing I wanted to share was this Vanity Fair article that mentions the writers by name. This is extremely surreal and fairly unusual, I think, and the credit must go to David Jenkins, the head writer / creator / show-runner / Captain / brain-father of 'Our Flag Means Death'. He is the real deal - and also recently tweeted out all the writer's names which caused my follower count to increase by tenfold overnight. Imagine having that kind of power - he's like freaking Thanos but not murdery.


Here's a sexy lil screenshot from the article:

I was lucky enough to be given Episode 6 of the show, titled 'The Art of Fuckery' but as my friend Eliza, who was also staffed on the show once tweeted 'even when it's 'ur episode' it's really the sum of everyone's talents on staff, cast and crew!' and goddamnit that is so true because I definitely did not write half the stuff that happened in it and couldn't be more delighted with the result.



The other thing I wanted to share was this Flicks article written by the delicious Dominic Corry, in which he gives me the most ginormous and undeserved shoutout, all for being lucky enough to born in Aotearoa:

And the only single other thing I wanted to say - and this is the last thing I'll ever say for the rest of my life - is that the fan art for this show is absolutely do-da crazy and I'm fucking addicted to it. Sharing a couple of pics that I would set as the background of my brain, if there was a setting or update that would allow me to do that. Thanks for tuning in, predators and friends!



Serving 'Art of Fuckery' Realness.

A beat from my favourite episode, ep 8 - written by Alex Sherman and Alyssa Lane!




153 views3 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page